The Eurasian Patent Office participation in the Celebrations Dedicated to the 100th Anniversary of the Polish Patent System



The delegation of the Eurasian Patent Office (EAPO) headed by President Saule Tlevlessova took part in ceremonies dedicated to the 100th anniversary of creation of the national system for the protection of industrial property and the founding of the Polish Patent Office, held in Warsaw, Poland, on November 26-27, 2018.

The commemorative meetings focused on the importance of the legal protection of achievements of inventors and creators of industrial design objects for the innovation development.

On November 26, an anniversary gala concert was held at the Teatr Wielki in Warsaw, which was attended by high-level officials of the parliament, the government, Polish inventors and patent attorneys, heads of international organizations and national patent offices of more than 30 countries.

The greetings of President of the Republic of Poland Andrzej Duda and Marshal of the Senate of Poland Stanisław Karczewski addressed to the Polish Patent Office on the occasion of the anniversary were read out to the gathering, Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Francis Gurry, President of the European Patent Office (EPO) António Campinos, President of the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) Christian Archambeau expressed their congratulations. EAPO President Saule Tlevlessova congratulated President of the Polish Patent Office Alicja Adamczak on that significant event and presented a memorable gift from the EAPO.

The participants recalled the history of the creation and formation of the Polish national patent system, spoke about the achievements of the Patent Office, noted its role in creating relevant conditions for effective legal protection of industrial property subject matters and the great personal contribution of Alicja Adamczak, who has been leading the Polish Patent Office for more than 17 years.

On the margins of the event, Saule Tlevlessova discussed current issues of cooperation with WIPO Director General Francis Gurry and President of the World Women Inventors and Entrepreneurs Association (WWIEA) Han Mi-Young.

Francis Gurry and Saule Tlevlessova

Saule Tlevlessova and Han Mi-Young

António Campinos and Saule Tlevlessova

On 27 November, the EAPO delegation participated in the ceremony of awarding the winners of the DesignEuropa Awards, established by the EUIPO for the best achievements in the field of industrial design. The designs registered in the European Union were presented at the contest. DesignEuropa Awards were presented to the winners in several categories.